Australian Antarctic Territory Series South Magnetic Pole 1909-2009

Münzen aus Down Under

Moderator: Kai

Beiträge: 14841
Registriert: 13. Februar 2008 11:15
Wohnort: Essen

Australian Antarctic Territory Series South Magnetic Pole 1909-2009

Beitrag von Kai » 26. Februar 2009 15:56

The sixth release from The Perth Mint's popular Australian Antarctic Territory Series marks the 100th anniversary of the first expedition to reach South Magnetic Pole. Following an exhausting and dangerous sledging journey, Australian scientists Douglas Mawson and TW Edgeworth David, together with Scottish doctor Alistair Forbes Mackay, reached the position on 16 January 1909. Mawson, Australia’s most famous Antarctic explorer, was responsible for the magnetic observations and the cartographic work.

Proof Quality 99.9% Pure Silver

The coin is struck from 1oz of 99.9% pure silver in proof quality.

Reverse Design Featuring Douglas Mawson

The coin’s reverse depicts Douglas Mawson and two Antarctic explorers against a blue-coloured sky. The image, which incorporates The Perth Mint’s ‘P’ mintmark, appears within the shape of the Antarctic continent. The reverse also includes the inscriptions SOUTH MAGNETIC POLE : 1909 – 2009, 100 YEARS, and ‘Australian Antarctic Territory’.

Australian Legal Tender

Issued as legal tender under the Australian Currency Act 1965, the coin’s obverse depicts the Ian Rank-Broadley effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

Limited Mintage

No more than 7,500 of these 1oz silver coins will be released by The Perth Mint.

Presentation Packaging

Accompanied by a numbered Certificate of Authenticity, each coin is housed in a blue-coloured presentation case, which comes within a stylish outer shipper.

Technical Specifications

Silver Content (Troy oz) 1
Monetary Denomination (AUD) 1
Fineness (% purity) 99.9
Minimum Gross Weight (g) 31.135
Maximum Diameter (mm) 40.60
Maximum Thickness (mm) 4.00
Du hast keine ausreichende Berechtigung, um die Dateianhänge dieses Beitrags anzusehen.


Zurück zu „Australien“